Five Minutes to Midnight


On Wednesday 17th January the Doomsday clock was moved forward by two minutes to five minutes to midnight. “We stand at the brink of a second nuclear age. Not since the first atomic bombs were dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki has the world faced such perilous choices.” In part this decision was made by including the dangers of climate change for the first time. Run by the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists this is an internationally respected symbol and is now at a level only previously reached at the height of the Cold War. Stephen Hawking and Martin Rees announced the move in Britain. See the statement issued by the Board

This entry was posted in War & security. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Five Minutes to Midnight

  1. matt says:

    Lets hit midnight & get it over with.

    (Better go and check those few 1000 cans of food in the cellar oh, and see if that shotgun is still working …….)

  2. earthpal says:

    Yes, such is my pessimism at times about climate change and the state of humanity etc. that sometimes I have the attitude…let’s just get it over with.

    Then I read or hear or see something inspiring or beautiful and it brings out the fight in me.

  3. matt says:

    > Then I read or hear or see something inspiring or beautiful and it brings out the fight in me.

    Yes, I agree. It’s what keeps me going as well. It’s not like the human spirit to lay down & die.

Comments are closed.