3.6 / 5.9 … the olive tree & the bumble bee

sun

It’s official. January’s average temperature here in the UK is normally 3.6 degrees C but, for this month of January it has averaged 5.9. Was that a bumble bee I just saw fly pass my window ….

…. (later this same day) … my son was bombed by a very confused bumble bee …. our olive tree has new growth ….

…. (3rd Feb) … spotted a ladybird in our back garden …

This entry was posted in Climate change. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 3.6 / 5.9 … the olive tree & the bumble bee

  1. earthpal says:

    And my daffodils came through about two weeks ago…

  2. matt says:

    … near Manchester?!

  3. inel says:

    Well, we had a wasp in early January, and so did our friends in Norway! They are meant to hibernate until spring …

  4. matt says:

    They are swimming down at the sea in Spain … :0

  5. Pete Smith says:

    February’s going to break a few records as well by the looks of it. I went over to my allotment yesterday to check out my garlic, it was so warm and sunny I ended up doing three hours digging with just a t-shirt on my top half. And it’s warm with bright sunshine again today. Never mind the effects on wildlife, how is a poor vegetable grower supposed to make sense of the instructions on the seed packet?

  6. matt says:

    LOL! Good point.

    I was thinking this morning that the west side of the house I live in, really needs canopies installed to try & shade it from the 30C+ heat of the summers. House is like an oven in summer now.

  7. Pete Smith says:

    Canopies are good, but might be vulnerable to wind as the climate bubbles. I like the wooden shutters they use in countries with long experience of ‘hot’.
    I know… instead of shutters use photovoltaic panels; keep out the sun and generate electricity at the same time.

  8. matt says:

    Good idea regards shutters. Problem is the bricks also heat up until they are hot to the touch!

  9. Pete Smith says:

    Ah, but cavity wall insulation not only keeps the warmth in, it keeps it out as well. If it’s really going to get permanently much hotter, all those old self-sufficiency books in the attic about eco-homes in the New Mexico desert may become unexpectedly relevant. I guess what you do is expose the brickwork during the day and insulate the inside. Then when it gets cold at night, you insulate the outside and de-insulate (?) the inside so the stored heat warms the house interior. Only for solid walls though!

  10. matt says:

    I’m looking for easy solutions Pete!

  11. Pete Smith says:

    Retro-fitting is difficult. Even designing from scratch is far from easy, especially if you want to avoid significant lifestyle changes.

Comments are closed.