Dim the lights honey …

Greenpeace has contacted The Coffee House in their drive to publicize the little known fact that the consumer can now purchase low energy bulbs that work on household dimmer switches. It’s called the Varilight CFL bulb. More bright news for the light brigade!

For the techies details here.

For consumers looking to purchase try here.

This entry was posted in Energy, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dim the lights honey …

  1. Pete Smith says:

    As far as I’m concerned there’s no need to use low energy bulbs with a dimmer because they’re so dim already. Dimmer switches are themselves consumers of energy.
    We’ve had discussions about this before, but it’s probably worth going over the same ground again because organisations like Greenpeace are being so dogmatic about the whole issue.
    I really wanted to use CFLs and I have honestly tried to learn to love them, but they are in most circumstances just crap. I acknowledge that technically an 11W CFL may give out the same number of lumens as a 60W ‘bad’ bulb, but in use there is a significant difference in the quality of light which makes CFLs unusable for many kinds of normal domestic activity. Unfortunately, I doubt if I would qualify to obtain incandescent bulbs on prescription from my doctor, which is Greepeace’s helpful suggestion to cater for continued use.
    I shall do all I can to oppose the bully-boy tactics of Greenpeace and others on this issue. Anyway, since my electricity comes from a 100% renewable supplier, changing my bulbs will make no difference to my carbon footprint. It may of course make me blind, so I won’t need lights at all.

  2. matt says:

    I did think it a rather strange thing for Greenpeace to focus on. They’re normally going on exotic trips to far flung places to chase down fishermen trying to earn a living.

  3. Pete Smith says:

    Yes, this is the sort of campaign I associate with Friends of the Earth. Greenpeace is obviously going through the NGO menopause. Things used to be so reliable; FoE had the law-abiding, ‘proper channels’, write-to-your-MP market sewn up, while Greenpeace was for camo-wearing Tarzans who shackled their body piercings to oil rigs. Now nobody knows who’s who any more.

  4. matt says:

    Yup, time for a new upstart to fill the vacuum. A group with a radical agenda to push the environmental issues hard … from the outside. FOE and Greenpeace have become big, respectable, engaging with government and big business. That’s all good but some new group is needed to put pressure on the establishment, as I say, from the outside.

    Most of these sort of groups exist within developing countries now; South America and India for example but, they don’t (as far as I know) have global reach and enough power to take on the big boys. Maybe a collective network is needed. They have formed but I’m yet to see such an environmental/social justice network succeed at the global level. Probably just a question of resources. Western NGOs seem to protect their power bases (and jobs!) too much.

Comments are closed.