Tread Lightly

The Guardian newspaper has contacted The Coffee House to promote its “Tread Lightly” project, not to be confused with Eurostar’s emissions reduction initiative of the same name.

Guardian readers are urged to adopt low-carbon lifestyles, share hints and tips, and make weekly pledges to change their habits. Suggested pledges include that old chestnut low-energy light-bulbs, and other favourites such as turning appliances off standby, washing clothes at a lower temperature or using the car less frequently. Exactly what you’ve been told to do on the ethical living page of women’s magazines for years. Is there really anyone left who isn’t doing all these things? Yes, I know …

Sign up to Tread Lightly and make a pledge before the end of November and you’re in with a chance of winning a G-Wiz electric ‘car’, featured by The Coffee House a few months ago (“Wall.Street.Crash”). I’d love to join you guys, it’s only the prospect of actually winning the thing that’s holding me back.

This entry was posted in Buying Green, Campaigns, Climate change. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tread Lightly

  1. inel says:

    I just took a look at The Guardian ‘Tread Lightly ‘campaign, and my recommendation would be to sign up for electricity from 100% renewable sources (no less) and leave it at that until we have critical mass on one significant carbon reduction project.

    The comment stream on the Grauniad website is so long (I doubt anyone reads them all), and you have to register and sign in there, so I thought I’d start your comment stream off with a tip instead!

    People in the UK can go to Good Energy and apply online to switch their electricity supplier. It is quick, easy, and no hassle. No installation necessary. You can even report meter readings by text, email or phone call.

    For details of how much carbon you can save, and also alternative renewable energy suppliers in your area of the UK, I found GreenHelpline helped me compare tariffs for our household.

    Most people I have mentioned this idea to have never heard of it, or have thought it would be too time-consuming, too much hassle, too expensive, or too fraught with installation problems. None of those objections apply. Certainly beats recycling individual contact lens containers šŸ˜‰

  2. matt says:

    I might have a look at that Green Helpline link inel. Thanks.

    My favourite recycling sport is including plastic food containers in my recycling bin. Occasionally they throw them back at me and I just throw them straight back at them. I know they don’t recycle them but if enough of us put them in our bins the council or, whoever, might just give up one day and decide it’s easier to organise a company to take them and recycle them. Viva la revolution! šŸ™‚

  3. inel says:

    I do the same! Anything plastic should go in the bins and woe betide the council that is found to be tipping our recyclables in the landfill, after all that sorting ( I heard of a case near us where that is happening because the recycling company does not have the capacity to cope with the increased amount of plastic householders are putting out.)

  4. Pete Smith says:

    Depending on the container, these things can continue to have a useful life, often in schools that are strapped for cash and resources. Coleslaw tubs with lids can hold glue and paint. Containers for microwave ready meals can be reused for heating up baked beans. Yoghurt pots can be used as flower pots. The plastic trays that the supermarkets receive yoghurts in and display them on the chiller shelf make ideal trays for small plant pots in the greenhouse. The translucent jars with screw tops that contain soups make robust containers for just about anything.

  5. matt says:

    I’ve also taken to buying the Guardian less & less (if at all); ‘Read lightly’.
    Ha ha.
    šŸ™‚

  6. Pete Smith says:

    That’s a shame.

    I think you’ll find we’re covering Halloween in another thread.

Comments are closed.