Quiz time: test your EU energy knowledge

The EU’s 27 member states are being told what they need to do to bring down carbon emissions and increase the use of renewable energy. They’ve just finished their lasted summit in Barcelona where they agreed to reduce carbon emissions by 20% by 2020.

But how much do you know about Europe’s energy needs. Test your knowledge with these 10 questions set up by the BBC.

Let us know your score. πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Climate change, Energy, EU and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Quiz time: test your EU energy knowledge

  1. matt says:

    I got 7 out of 10. Almost had the other two and should have got the other one but hey.

  2. earthpal says:

    Well, I could take the quiz and not tell you that your link takes me directly to your own results . . . with all the correct answers there. But I’m just too honest so I won’t.

    Interesting little quiz though. I would probably have got 4/10 unless I got all my guesses correct.

    Bit of a shocker to learn that the current UK use of renewable energy is only 1.3% compared to Sweden’s admirable 41%.

  3. matt says:

    Oops! I have now corrected it. Thanks EP.

    That UK/Sweden comparison is shocking isn’t it. Maybe they utilize a lot of hydro.

  4. keithsc says:

    Very good little quiz. I got nine – without the benefit of the answers – any advances? Poland 96% of its electricity from coal – and I can’t imagine any of its power stations being very clean. What is the EU doing to encourage them to develop more environmentally friendly power?

  5. matt says:

    Good question and good result Keith. I don’t know that the Eastern European countries are part of the EU Carbon Trading scheme yet. Maybe you could find out?

  6. Stephan says:

    I got 9/10 and it was the Sweden question I got wrong (dam) More to the Swedes than meat balls then:-)

  7. matt says:

    Well done Stephan but then I’d expect nothing less from you sir. πŸ™‚

  8. Nat says:

    I got 9 out of 10. I didn’t know that it was Germany who committed to shut the nuclear plants. I thought Bulgaria. πŸ˜›

Comments are closed.