Ikea’s trailer bikes for customer use.

Introduced by Ikea Denmark for use by their customers. They noticed from a survey that 20 percent of its customers arrived by bike so a Ikea store in Copenhagen has just introduced this trailer shown in the image.

A sizeable deposit & insurance premium is necessary before use. See this site for more detail.

Aren’t those Danes so good with their cycling. 🙂

This entry was posted in Business, Thinking outside the box, Transport and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ikea’s trailer bikes for customer use.

  1. Pete Smith says:

    Absolutely applaud the idea in principle, but in practice….
    Our local Ikea is just the other side of Croydon, on an old industrial estate surrounded by busy roads and a huge car park. There is no way I would ever cycle to shop there, in fact even driving is a nightmare. And now Ikea have finally caught up with the rest of the retail world and started online shoopping with home delivery, there’s no need to do a physical visit.
    Perhaps it’s different in Denmark 🙂

  2. matt says:

    I’ve been to that Ikea so know the one you mean. I didn’t know Ikea had started online & deliveries! Still, I read a report that the high petrol prices are discouraging folk from out of town shopping centres. So maybe Ikea is now being more realistic.

  3. earthpal says:

    When I was a little girl, there was a guy, we called him the rag and bone man, who used to come around our streets collecting our rubbish. I presume he sold it for scrap. He used to come on a bicycle which had a trailer fitted on the back. I think he made it and fitted it on to the cycle himself. Worked for him anyway.

    Later on in years, he acquired a little pony to pull the trailer. The cycling and towing probably got too much for him as he got older.

    I like the idea of these trailers. I’ve seen kids (and dogs come to think of it) being pulled along in custom-built trailers. I see Pete’s point though. I wouldn’t fancy it on busy fast roads. In truth, I think I would be terrified.

  4. the Grit says:

    Hi earthpal,

    A while back, and being a gentleman I won’t put a date to it, there was a big market for bone and rag scrap. The rags were highly prised for making high quality paper, and, if memory serves, the bone marrow was used to make glue, while the rest was ground into bone meal and added to animal feed. Of course, as technology improved and access to resources expanded, both forms of recycling became unprofitable. On the other hand, it’s looking like, what with high fuel prices, they may make a return.

    the Grit

  5. earthpal says:

    Hi Grit – a true gent,

    Well not wanting to give any clues away but it must have been around the mid seventies when this guy came round because that’s when I was a little seven-year old girl playing out. 😉 I remember his pony the most because we would run out to pet it.

    Great recyclers those rag and bone men . . . and environmentally kind. The increase in cars means that householders take their own scrap to the yards these days.

  6. the Grit says:

    Hi e,

    It would seem that y’all have better recycling programs over there than we do over here, although such may well be different in more populated areas. On the other hand, the value of scrap metal has gone up so much, even around here, that lots of people are getting into the spirit of taking it to the scrap yard. Unfortunately, this includes criminal types who have figured out that there is good money to be made stealing manhole covers, street sighs, and even rails from train tracks.

    As to age, when I was 7, a decade or more before you, and living much further from centers of civilization than I do now, one man in town made a living plowing up gardens, pulling up stumps and such with his pair of mules. I also recall making a good deal of pocket money retrieving discarded glass soda bottles, each with a nickle deposit redeemable at any grocery store, from road sides in the area. Of course, these days, trying to mine such areas is most adults won’t attempt, let alone unsupervised children. Times have changed, and I’m not at all sure for the better.

    the Grit

  7. matt says:

    That stealing of all things metal is rife over here too Grit. They’re nothing but scum.

    I also used to take in glass bottles to the local store for sweets (lollies) money. Ah, those were the days. Kids mug each other for ipods these days.

  8. the Grit says:

    Hi matt,

    My, but those were good times. Of course, thinking back, I also remember that we didn’t have air conditioning and only got three channels on our black and white TV. I think I’m glad I don’t have to choose.

    the Grit

  9. Jenna says:

    That is awesome — I’ve never seen a bike pulling a small trailer before. Seems like it could come in handy though!

  10. matt says:

    I like this one;

    http://www.bikesandtrailers.com/bike-trailers/croozer_cargo.html

    And only £140. Should take all the weeks shopping. Damn, might have to sell the car now. Mine you, the second hand car market the way it is at the moment, probably no one will buy it!

Comments are closed.