Going off grid – the video

The video above is 7 mins long but worth it if you’re a techie and thinking of trying to go off grid. It shows an American guy’s rather large home with plenty of surrounding land. He has a 56 panel solar array, a battery bank and storage via hydrogen and also utilizes a fuel cell.

How did he pay for it? You’ll have to watch the video to find out. 🙂

This entry was posted in Carbon footprint, Energy, Funding, Housing, Renewables, solar, Sustainablity, Thinking outside the box, US and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Going off grid – the video

  1. earthpal says:

    Well you’ve got to give respect to the guy.

  2. matt says:

    Absolutely. He obviously understands his stuff. How realistic somethng like this is for others though, even on a smaller scale, I’m not sure. But there in lies the debate

  3. the Grit says:

    Hi y’all,

    Cool film although, as matt mentions most of the stuff isn’t practical at all for most people. Still, it shows what’s possible and that seems to be encouraging. Personally, I’d be more interested in having enough solar power, and batteries to get me through the night, and then get an evil belly laugh at making our local utility company buy the excess electricity.

    I’d also like to mention that I’ve been doing a bit of research in this area lately and, with a modest amount of Government subsidy and the amount of scrap land area I have to work with (fence rows and such,) I’m pretty close to making this a paying investment. My current guess is that, in another three years or so when manufacture of thin film solar panels catches up with demand reducing their price a bit, and assuming that electric rates go up a little more than accounting for the rate of inflation, I’ll be able to convince a bank that a loan toward this goal would be a good investment. Of course, as soon as I sign the papers, you know a practical fusion reactor will be announced the next day 🙂

    the Grit

  4. matt says:

    Is that you saying Grit that you’re seriously beginning to consider going off-grid?

  5. the Grit says:

    Hi matt,

    Not off-grid, but more like having the grid pay me. Although they don’t put this sort of information on the Net, or at least I haven’t been able to find it, I’d bet that our local government granted monopoly electric utility is in the top ten most unreliable ones in the US. I hate them. Thus, any practical way to remove myself from their evil empire is great, but a way to do that and make them pay me for a change is even more attractive.

    I would, just to show you that I can be positive at times, point out that I’d also bet that I’m not alone in this view. There is, I suspect, a significant percentage of our population that would much rather own their own electric generating capability than be dependent on a single source distributor. Not because of environmental issues, mind you, but just because we’re an independent minded bunch, and there’s also all the recent disasters where huge numbers of people lost electricity for days and weeks. While sales of gas powered generators remain strong, if presented with a better solution, that might even turn a profit, people would scarf it up. Oh, and the price of wind and solar power for individuals is going to drop significantly over the next few years as manufacturing of new technologies gets up to speed, so there’s a good chance we’ll get to see if I’m right.

    the Grit

  6. matt says:

    Being independent is a good a reason as any. It’s true, any government funding does involve mountains of paper work. Just finding where these funding streams are is difficult enough, which is why, when I find them I blog them here. Well, for the UK at least.

  7. the Grit says:

    Hi matt,

    I’m not sure I’d bet good money on our bureaucrats verses yours in an obfuscation competition, but ours are enough challenge for me 🙂 I’d also mention that, given our current political situation, we are very likely to follow whatever environmental/government path y’all set, so your heroic efforts in digging up this information are not only interesting on an intellectual level to this citizen of the States, but are likely to have practical value as well. While we may be riding in different ships, I suspect that our lunatic captains are in close communication.

    I have no idea whether it made your news yet, but our liberal candidate for President gave a speech today in which he promised to totally transform our economy into a “green” one if elected. A good deal of his proposal was dedicated to how labor unions would play a major role in the new reality, meaning that we would tax all foreign imports into a noncompetitive position in our markets. The rest was mostly about promising to tax Big Oil to pay for buying everyone a fuel efficient car and a new house with all the latest energy efficient technology. While this may be a good long term goal, or it may not, or eventually land that candidate in a mental institution, I’ll give you fair warning now that our next Administration is quite likely to drag the world down into a very nasty depression. While I may be wrong (crossed fingers) it’s always a good idea to have a few supplies tucked aside in case of hard times.

    Keep up the good work,
    the Grit

Comments are closed.